About Skål Club of Washington DC

About Skål International



Shortly after the inauguration of the first joint Swedish and French air service between Stockholm and Paris in 1932, a group of travel people from the French capital were invited to make an exploratory flight over the new route. The welcome they received in Stockholm led to many pleasant friendships.

Realizing the importance of closer relationships among those who strive to develop and promote both national and international travel, the men who made the flight to Stockholm determined to found a permanent organization whose primary aim would be the creation of goodwill and friendship in travel and transportation circles throughout the world.

The Paris Skål Club was formed on December 16, 1932, with Rene Genestie as President. In 1934, twelve other clubs had been formed and Florimond Volckaert conceived the idea of uniting them into an international organization. The Association International des Skål Clubs (A.I.S.C.) was created on April 28, 1934, and Voickaert became its Founder President. From that modest beginning, Skål now has more than 25,000 members in over 500 Clubs, spread throughout 80 countries.

On April 1, 1938, the Skål Club of North America (Skål Club of New York, No. 28) was founded.

As the first Skål Club established in North America, the New York Club assisted and guided in the formation of other Skål Clubs on this continent.

"The North American Chapter Committee" in which all Skål Clubs in North America were represented, was formed on March 31, 1949, and was followed by the North American Skål Council on August 9, 1950, and that organization was superseded by the National Skål Committee, U.S.A. as National Committees were formed in Canada, Mexico and the U.S.A.

Our Washington DC Club was formed in 1955.

Coincident with the formation of the three separate National Committees, its North American Skål Council was continued to help in all matters of joint and common interest between Canada, Mexico and the U.S.A., as well as offering membership to Skål Clubs affiliated with the Area Committee under its new name of "North American Area Skål Committee."

Experts differ as to the origin of the word "Skål" (pronounced Skoal) which occurs in the three Scandinavian languages. It is the basis for the universal Skål.


To fellow Skålleagues everywhere,
Good Health!
Long Life!

The Skål movement in the North American area has grown to the extent that we now have 5435 Skållegues in 123 Clubs in Aruba, Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Curacao, El Salvador, Jamaica, Mexico, St. Maarten and the United States.


A note on one of the Charities that Skål DC supports: The Joseph T. Neary Memorial Charity

Joe Neary joined the New York SKÅL Club in 1974. As was his nature, he quickly became involved and ascended to the position of President of the New York Club in 1979. He continued to stay active and in 1982 he was elected to the National SKÅL Committee Board of Directors representing Region I, one of six national regions. He progressed through the chairs of office to become National President in 1988 and then was elected as the International SKÅL Councillor representing the United States SKÅL Committee on the International Council. Joe had been a strong supporter for Colombo to host the 51st SKÅL Congress and it was in his role as Councillor that he was planning to attend.

Joe passed away suddenly in the garden of his home in Peekskill, New York, on October 8, 1990 just 18 days before he would have left to attend the Colombo Congress.

The Charity bearing his name was founded in Colombo, Sri Lanka in November 1990 during the International Skål Congress, to provide for the relief from suffering for some of Colombo’s poor, inner-city children and to assist a small group of Apostolic Carmelite Sisters in providing nursery and preschool day care facilities for these children from ages 4 months to five years.

The December 2015 Trustees' Report confirms that, to date, $194,052 are the donations that have been invested in Fixed Interest Deposits in Sri Lanka and this does not include other funds that were contributed for other specific purposes such as the purchase of furniture, funds used for capital construction projects and disaster relief following the December 2004 tsunami.   

The following are the projects that the fund has supported through the years:

                              Bethelehem Creche, Carmel Piyuma                        

                              Handicaraft/Education Centre, Carmel Piyuma       

                              Apostolic Carmel School, Maharagama                         

                              Girl’s Home, Akkaraipattu                                               

                              St. Joseph’s Home, Trincomalee                                       

                              Joseph Vaz Home, Nainamadama                                    


It is virtually impossible to put a U.S. dollar equivalent to this due to the constant fluctuation of the exchange rates, which have gone from Rs.43 to the dollar in 1990 to Rs.143.99 to the dollar now, but I would estimate that this represents approximately $190,000.  This has gone to support well over 1,000 children.

Past DC Club Presidents

SKÅL DC wishes to gratefully acknowledge the service of our Club Presidents through the years:


2019 Morgan Maravich
2018 Andres Hayes
2016-2017James Enright
2015 Jim Deutsch
2014 Bill Moyer
2013 Valerie Armbruster
2012 Mary Peters
2010-2011 Eric Hotard
2009 Bjarne Bertnsen
2008 Bob Vaughn
2007 Jose Araujo
2006 Hanns Eckert
2005 Carol Betz
2004 Dick Knorpp
2003 Alison Rubin
2002 Sam Kieffer
2001 John A. Spielman, CTC
2000 Linda Mallinger
1999 William Mitchell III
1998 James Larsen
1997 Frank Sherman
1996 Robert D. Collegeman
1995 Joseph Zarza
1994 Anthony Graystone
1993 John Stratton
1992 Michael S. Lupfer
1991 Richard C. Anderson
1990 Mark Johnson
1989 Robert L. Gratton
1988 David M. Holden
1987 Jim Morison
1986 William B. Cobb
1985 Phillip Wagner
1984 Peter M. Larsen
1983 Melvin F. Clemens, Jr.
1982 Edward H Herndon
1981 Louis G. Sak Emeritus
1981 Jan West
1980 Martin H Haerberer
1979 William S. Wright
1978 Brian G. Kirby
1977 William S. Wright
1976 A.L. Jack Freed
1975 Lawrence J. Frommer
1974 Aage R. Nylen
1973 William S. Seitz
1972 Marvin P. King
1971 Paul I. Colney
1970 Jack E. Brown
1969 Peter J.M. deBruin
1968 Russel E. Ellis
1967 John R. Van Slycke
1966 T.W. Edwards, Jr.
1965 Stuart S. Wooster
1964 Anthony J. Spielman
1963 John E. Wilson
1962 Gouveneur E. Smith
1961 Malcolm W. Stevenson
1960 Kenneth H. Carter
1959 Eugene F. Richter
1958 Lloyd G. Roberts
1957 Henry Burroughs
1955-1956 Herbert D. Ford

Skål International,  Washington DC

All rights reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software